Lemon cake (+ mini)

Wow, it’s been a while since I posted anything on here. I do have a backlog of a couple of desserts that I had planned to post, but didn’t have time for it. Starting with these most recent lemon cakes! We went to Switzerland last weekend, and I wanted to bake something to gift to my hosts. Due to the summer heat, and the lack of emergency cookies in my freezer, I opted to go with a recipe I made a couple of times before. The lemon flavor also appealed as I figured it would be refreshing with the weather.

<< Jump to recipe >>

The recipe I used was from Bianca Zapatka, although as usual, I adjusted slightly to match my usual preferences and available ingredients. I also made the cake non-vegan, as I only had actual dairy products on hand. I baked 3 batches (2 to give away and 1 for the family at home). Since I didn’t want to make three consecutive batches and having to wait for each to bake, I looked for my second loaf pan so I could bake the first two together. I couldn’t find it, so I opted to bake the third batch in a pan for mini cakes, and the batter filled up the 8 molds in that pan.

The last times I made this cake, I ended up with a sunken center, and I couldn’t figure out why. This time around, I read the original recipe again and realized that the pan I used was much larger than the recipe called for. So I wouldn’t advise doing that, so stick to the recommended pan size: 8.5 inches or ~21.5 cm. As for the top of the cakes, I went for a quick lemon glaze, basically sifted icing sugar and lemon juice mixed together until I got a good consistency. Then once I poured it over the cakes, and while it hadn’t set, I zested some lemon over that as extra decoration (and to hint to the flavor of the cake).

Then came time to package the cakes nicely. I think for me, this is one of the more challenging aspects of baking as gifts, in particular for cakes and cupcakes. Especially since I don’t really go out of my way to purchase packaging material for this purpose. What I have been doing in the past couple of years, however, is keeping any more solid, clean food boxes I get so that I can recycle them to gift cakes. This time, since I would not only need to commute to my rendez-vous point, for carpooling, but the cakes would then stay in the car for 6-7 hours, I opted to wrap them in parchment paper, tied off with a string, then put both loaf cakes into a cardboard box I had kept from some bulk chocolates we had purchased over the holiday season. I was glad they fit perfectly in the box! To finish it off, I added a little card with the list of ingredients (and noticed later that I forgot to write sunflower oil, so added that in the car) and potential allergens.


RECIPE
  Ingredients
  • 300 g all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 packet (8 g) vanilla sugar
  • 112 g sugar (total 120 g sugar with the vanilla sugar)
  • 120 mL (125 g) milk
  • 120 g yogurt
  • 125 mL (118 g) neutral oil
  • juice and zest of 1 lemon
  Procedure
  1. Preheat oven 180°C. Oil and line a loaf pan with baking paper.
  2. In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and baking soda. Then whisk in the sugar and vanilla sugar.
  3. In another bowl (or jug to make it easier), combine milk, yogurt, oil, and lemon juice and zest.
  4. Combine the dry and wet ingredients, and mix until just combined. Do not overmix, if there are a few lumps it’s fine.
  5. Pour into the prepared pan, smooth out the top and tap out air bubbles. Bake for 45 min-1h at 180°C in the lower rack of the oven.
  6. Cool for 10-15 mins in the pan, then cool completely on a cooling rack.

Leave a comment